The LNM Institute of Information Technology

Ms. Suma Varughese

DS & DG (Director General: DRDO (MCC))

Ms. Suma Varughese, Distinguished Scientist, assumed charge as Director General MED, CoS & CS (MCC) at DRDO from 1 st Jan 2022. She obtained her Masters in Computer Science from Mysore University in 1988 and MS (Engg.) in ECE from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in the year 2000 after specializing in the Area of Radar Antenna Measurement System.

Ms. Suma Varughese joined DRDO at Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE) as Scientist ‘B’ in the year 1989.

She moved to the Centre for Airborne System (CABS) in September 2004 to work on the Airborne Early Warning & Control System (AEW&C) Programme, a flagship programme of DRDO. In the year 2017, she took over as the Programme Director AEW&C and successfully delivered two systems to Indian Air Force, assets that only few other countries possess. These have been put to use significantly by the IAF for its operational purposes since the year 2017. During her illustrious career of approximately 34 years, she has contributed towards the evaluation of the phased arrays for the Akash Radar using novel techniques.

She led the team that designed and developed the first Indigenous Airborne Active Electronically Scanned Antenna (AESA) for Radars that was used in the AEW&C System and lead the team in flight testing of the Airborne Early Warning System. Being trained in multi-disciplinary field, she notably led the team to successfully design and develop the Multisensor Data Fusion System leading towards Network Centric operations of IAF.

She was instrumental in setting up various infrastructure facilities like the Active Array Antenna Measurement facility, the Mission System Test and Integration Rig, the Antenna Assembly Rig, the EMI/EMC facility to name a few.

In the role of Director General, she is heading frontier labs, in the areas of Artificial Intelligence, Semiconductors, Quantum technologies & Cyber related activities. She has ensured setting up of production lines for IR based sensors & release of MMIC products (GaN based) for the development of Radar/EW in various bands, successfully lead the team for realization of the first Quantum Communication system over 100 Kms – along with academia & industry and development of Cyber Security.

She is recipient of various awards like the NRDC National Award, JC Bose Memorial Award of IETE, MN Saha Award of IETE, the Pathbreaking Research & Outstanding technology Development Award of DRDO, the Agni Award for Excellence in Self Reliance of DRDO Performance Excellence award of DRDO to name a few. She also has various publications in journals and conferences. She is the Senior Member of IEEE.